Hi ho, hi ho…

20130119-174748.jpg

I love my job. Well, most days anyway. I’m a registered nurse on an oncology and palliative care ward. Those are just the technical words for cancer and dying people. It doesn’t sound particularly cheerful, but I work with some amazing people who bend over backwards to help their patients and workmates. We see a lot of sadness, and a lot of love. We also have pretty warped senses of humour – that helps too. :p

Today, however…I knew it was going to be an interesting shift when my best patient was 90. My second best patient was 94 with a broken arm. So I took a deep breath and plunged in. By the end of the shift all were clean, fed and comfortable…and now I’m trashed.

I am also very satisfied with my day’s work. Perhaps the most satisfying element of today was working with one patient’s family. At the start of the day they were…challenging. By the end of the day, they were smiling and shook my hand. That was particularly gratifying.

And now I’m home. And there’s a Magnum in the freezer with my name on it, so you’ll have to excuse the abrupt end to this post.
I’m sure you understand. 🙂

Looking-glasses

One thought on “Hi ho, hi ho…

Leave a Reply

