Three Songs

I’ve taken up another blogging course through The Daily Post called Writing 101. The aim is to get yourself writing (if not necessarily posting) everyday. Today is day three. My task today is to write about the three most important songs in my life.

This is hard. If you know me in person, you know I’m from an incredibly musical family. Like my-dad-just-made-his-own-acoustic-guitar-in-Italy musical. To choose three songs and decide they are the most important is like choosing the three best coffees I’ve ever had.

See? Impossible.

To narrow things down a little, I’m going to choose the three most important songs to me as a parent. This also helps me to keep with the theme of the blog. I hear each of these songs at least once a day.

The Owl and the Pussycat

I memorised this song when Alpha was little and would sing it to him as a lullaby every night. And every morning. And probably twice in the afternoon. It’s quite versatile – you can slow it right down to allow for a soothing sleepifying effect, or you can speed it up and add a bit of a bounce to it to try and entertain a screaming, teething monster baby.

He loved it. I loved it. We still sing it. I’m loving it even more now that he’s learning the words. So far, he’s mastered

“…so they took it away and were married next day by the turkey who lives on a hill.”

I think that’s the takeaway lesson from the song, don’t you?

Not sure how I’ll go once he asks me to start explaining the lyrics. Bong trees and runcible spoons and interspecies weddings – what could possibly go wrong?

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star

This is important to me for two reasons.
1. It’s the first song I remember Alpha singing himself.
2. Sung ad nauseum, it will calm my cranky, tired Zulu.

It also makes me laugh right now when I sing it after hearing Alpha sing a new version:

“Twinkle twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are
Up above the world so high
Like some garlic in the sky
Twinkle twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are.”

He’s obviously worked out how I cook.

Recently he decided to put on a concert for me. He grabbed his toy piano (‘pinano’ for those playing at home) and put his sunglasses on upside down. He performed with such great gusto that he actually it virtually demanded audience participation (I was Chief Diamond Maker). I have been told stories of the concerts my sister and I used to subject our relatives to – clearly it’s genetic.

My final song choice was clear from the moment I started writing this post.

Peppa Pig Theme Song

Sure, it’s not the most complicated song. It has two words that are repeated three times and an introductory free-stylin’ monologue.

But I can tell you now without a shadow of doubt, this is the most important song to me as a parent.

Why?

It heralds the start of a magical five minute window of mesmerisation. Alpha will sit (or stand) transfixed by The Pig until the end of the credits. I have five minutes to do whatever I need/can.

It turns out you can get a lot done in five minutes.

I can boil the kettle, fill and start the washing machine and then make myself a cup of tea. I never get to drink it, but that’s beside the point.

I can chop an onion, two carrots, and some celery for dinner. If I didn’t want my fingers to remain intact I could probably do more.

I can vacuum the living room (around the kids) without Alpha stealing the vacuum from me.

I can shower and dress myself.

I can go to the bathroom without supervision.

Yup. It’s sad, but this is one of the most important pieces of music ever written for me as a parent.

What are the favourites in your house?

3 thoughts on “Three Songs

  1. What great choices!
    We had the Peppa Pig theme tune on an ad nauseum loop today (much like they play in Peppa Pig theme park, a friend reported). I was glued to the sofa with Teddy asleep and Noodles refused to change the DVD or even take it off the title page. Gah! But still, you’ve got to appreciate the entrancing powers of the Pig.
    Our piano at home is incredibly out of tune. Yet Noodles will recognise me playing Twinkle Twinkle and ding along too. I do pity the neighbours.
    And I have a theory about the back story of The Owl and the Pussycat, but that’s a future post.

    • One of the best purchases I ever made was a series of Peppa off iTunes. It’s saved my bacon (ha) umpteen million times in the queues at the shops. The Pig is mesmerising and I’m so very grateful.

Leave a Reply

