The Week of Lasts

Sorry I haven’t been around much recently. I’ve been a little busy. We decided to take our lovely cosy, ordered life and turn it upside down…

…and pack it into boxes and move to the other side of our suburb.

It’s so incredibly exciting – we’re going into a BIG house with a backyard. The kitchen is twice the size of our current one. I can’t wait.

It’s so incredibly terrifying – we moved in over seven years ago as newlywed a and are moving out a family of four. We have so much stuff to pack and so little time. I can’t do this.

Yes, I can. I just don’t know how sane I’ll be at the end of the week.

So this is our week of lasts.
The last Monday coffee with friends before we move.
The last lazy Saturday sleep in.
The last church service.
The last meal in our first home.
The last night sleeping here.
The last time I have to drag two kids and groceries up to the third floor with a full bladder.
The last time I hang our washing on the balcony.
The last time I run out of hot water halfway through washing my hair.

I just have to get through this week. All offers of coffee and chocolate gladly accepted.

6 thoughts on “The Week of Lasts

  1. Good Luck! I know how stressful moving can be — I can never stay in one place. The last time I moved I waited until the last minute and didn’t finish until a week after I was supposed to be out!

  2. How exciting!! My husband and I started in a house 800 sq feet, then when I was pregnant with our 2nd we added an addition of 1000 sq feet. You will love the space to spread out with your family of four, and have what we call ‘room to twirl’ 🙂

  3. Good luck! I’ve not properly moved since I was 15 (ironic for an estate agent). I can’t imagine where I’d even begin with shifting stuff.
    It’s bitter-sweet to be aware of lasts. Doesn’t always happen. Try to catch the details amongst the frenzy. Xx

  4. Ah, good luck! I hate moving house. Had to do it almost every year for about 10 years when I was renting (I wasn’t an awful tenant, I just had short contracts) and it never got easier or more organised. I can’t imagine it if I’d accumulated 7 years worth of stuff and 2 littluns! Hope it all goes smoothly 🙂

Leave a Reply

