Uhh…hi.

Hi.

Sorry I haven’t written. I’ve been kinda…busy.

Awkward silence.

I’ve thought about it, but…well, never really got around to it. You know how things get lost when you move? There’s that one thing that you never find again, no matter how hard you look.

Well, for a while there, I thought this blog was it.

I honestly did toss up the idea of calling it quits. Not that I don’t like blogging anymore – just that it had been a while since I’d written…and then it got longer…and longer…and well, it reached the point where it was embarrassing. Did I just start again and pretend nothing had happened? Or just let it drift away?

So I was preparing myself unconsciously for the drift. It wasn’t lack of material – far from it. I just couldn’t start writing again. In some ways, I think I’d lost my voice.

Then my mum told me about a new tv series coming out called Outlander. The premise (a WW2 nurse is on holidays in Scotland with her husband and wanders up to the local mini Stone Henge…she touches the stones and wakes up 200 years earlier in 1743) intrigued me, so I set it to record.

By the end of the opening credits, I knew I was going to enjoy the show. I did some research – it turned out to be based on a series of books (currently eight written, potentially another two to come) by Diana Gabaldon. After the third episode, I bought the first e-book.

I pretty much inhaled the books – all eight in seven weeks. That surprised me – I haven’t done that in years. To say I lost myself in them would be an understatement.

So let me tell you a bit about these books. They’re ostensibly historical fiction with a strong focus on romance and a time travel twist. They are by no means teen (or even young adult) fiction. These are written for an adult audience. Seriously. I don’t recommend them for everyone, but I do heartily recommend them.

The big thing about these books? They got me reading again. I’ve read more (recreationally) in the past three months than I have in the past three years.

AND

…they’ve got me wanting to write again.

Those of you who knew me when I was in high school might know I wrote a “novel”. It was really a serial that I’d write a few pages of each night, distributing copies to my friends the next morning on purple paper. When I read it now, I don’t know whether to cringe or laugh hysterically at my clunky, cliched writing – but I loved it. Back then, I knew I wanted to be an author when I grew up.

But 15 years a little (shh) while down the track, I’m no closer to being an author than I was then. I still love writing (hence I’m here!) but being a mum and a nurse haven’t really given me time to do so. On the other hand, it has given me plenty of stories…

But the desire to write has never really died. I guess you could say I’ve had a big case of writers block. Work hasn’t really helped – they kind of discourage creativity in your writing when you’re a nurse.

Anyway.

Since getting into these books, the ideas for stories have started appearing again. Some time in the next five years I may even get a chance to put some of the ideas down on paper. Who knows – maybe I will be an author one day…

Until then, I’m back here writing for you. And my sanity. Thank you, Ms Gabaldon, for helping me find my voice again.

So, now that’s out of the way, I have so many things to share with you…

7 thoughts on “Uhh…hi.

  1. Welcome back! I thought you might be back…or just peeking your head around the corner recently. 🙂

    I was a teenage novel writer myself so I totally understand that entire cringing when you look at it but love it so much feeling. I would read mine to my sisters.

    There’s nothing like the feeling of getting hooked on a series. I haven’t found a new series in a long time and I think it’s what I need. Reading is just blah for me these days.

    It’s exciting that your creativity is coming back! I think I am my happiest when I have stories and/or characters running around in my head. (Or maybe I’m just a little bit crazy and should be worried?)

    Anyway, welcome back! Can’t wait to hear what you’ve been up to!

    • Hello! Yes, there was a bit of peeking…but I’ve been spotted now, so I can’t hide anymore.
      You’re definitely not the only one with characters rampaging through your head! I’m looking forward to finding a new set.
      I thoroughly recommend Outlander if you haven’t tried it!

      • I’ll have to put it on my “to look into” list. 🙂

        Awhile ago (I’m not sure if it was 5 years or more), I pulled out my high school series and started writing about where the characters were now- all grown up with grown children. (There were some really young parents in the series.) Well, they’ve been timidly peeking out of the top of the binders where their stories are kept. I’ve always wanted to re-write the entire thing properly…. who knows?

Leave a Reply

