STOP EVERYTHING!!

The Blue Fork is missing.

Okay, so that was probably a little dramatic. And perhaps a touch cryptic. I’m not talking about some hipster band or a beloved stuffed toy – no, that would be an absolute crisis (talking about a lost toy going missing, I mean…the only bands I follow avidly these days are The Wiggles and Lah-Lah’s Big Live Band. Definitely not hipster.)

I’m talking about an actual fork. A blue plastic fork. I realise the capital letters may have confused you. The thing is, this particular piece of cutlery is so beloved that it’s like it’s part of the family. We’ve even given it an affectionate pet name – the Blue Fork (didn’t see that coming, hey?.

Anyway, it’s missing. Completely gone. Vanished. We haven’t seen it all year (I love doing that in January!). We really have searched high and low. I’m not far from making posters advertising a large reward. Okay, maybe just a medium one…erring on the smaller side. I might be willing to surrender the last Tim Tam to go with a gratefully made cup of coffee (it’s all in the wrist).

See, Alpha loves blue. Currently, he will not consume a morsel of food if it is not lovingly presented on a blue plate/bowl/tarpaulin to be delicately enjoyed with the finest blue cutlery Mummy could buy ($2 for an 18-piece rainbow set from IKEA). Mealtimes have been a battle all year (see? It’s fun!) because there is No Blue Fork. My poor neglected child has been forced to use the orange fork. Side note: my iPad desperately tried to make me capitalise orange fork, but I couldn’t let it – we really just don’t love it enough.

So now we have a conundrum. Do I try and plan meals that do not require the use of a fork for the foreseeable future? Or do I brave a trip to IKEA in the school holidays?

I know what you’re thinking – it’s a close call.

Anyway, happy 2015! If you need me, I’ll be in the corner in the foetal position.

8 thoughts on “STOP EVERYTHING!!

  1. oh man! I think you are just going to have to brave that trip to IKEA! It will be tough on you I know, but a small sacrifice to make for the blue fork!

  2. I feel your pain. We have the single, solitary dummy. It’s on its last legs (I know how it feels!) – the plastic is worryingly thinning (I WISH I knew how that feels!). Replacements have been purchased, but one suck later they’re rejected. Even a momentary misplacement and my heart starts to race (like when the boy stored it safely in the little plastic pet ambulance – but of course!).
    I hope that when the dummy bites the dust the pacifier days will be over (yay!)…but life without it seems too hard to contemplate as sleep (his and therefore mine) only comes with the dummy.
    Good luck finding BLUE FORK! Have you tried looking in a little plastic pet ambulance?

  3. Thats a tough call! That Ikea stuff is pretty great! I still have the cups bowls and possibly the cutlery from my kids’ younger days and it has stood the test of time.

    I would be heading to Ikea- then again I can never pass up an opportunity to go to Ikea!

Leave a Reply

